, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

And the 2010-2011 Drama Desk Award Winners Are…..

The 56th annual Drama Desk Awards, celebrating excellence in Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway theatre, were presented last night. Congratulations to the following winners:

ANYTHING GOES won Outstanding Revival of a Musical, Outstanding Actress in a Musical (Sutton Foster), Outstanding Choreography (Kathleen Marshall), Outstanding Set Design (Derek McLane) and Outstanding Sound Design of a Musical (Brian Ronan).

THE BOOK OF MORMON won Outstanding Musical, Outstanding Director of a Musical (Casey Nicholaw and Trey Parker), Outstanding Music (Trey Parker, Robert Lopez and Matt Stone), Outstanding Lyrics (Trey Parker, Robert Lopez and Matt Stone) and Outstanding Orchestrations (Larry Hochman and Stephen Oremus).

GHETTO KLOWN won Outstanding Solo Performance (John Leguizamo).

GOOD PEOPLE won Outstanding Actress in a Play (Frances McDormand).

THE HOUSE OF BLUE LEAVES won Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play (Edie Falco).

THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING EARNEST won Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play (Brian Bedford).

THE MOTHERF**KER WITH THE HAT won Outstanding Actor in a Play (Bobby Cannavale).

PRISCILLA QUEEN OF THE DESERT THE MUSICAL won Outstanding Costume Design (Tim Chappel and Lizzy Gardiner).

TIGERS BE STILL and THE DREAM OF THE BURNING BOY’s Reed Birney was honored with a special award for his work in the theatre over the past 35 years.

Not for profit company awards:

MANHATTAN THEATRE CLUB was honored with an award for GOOD PEOPLE.

ROUNDABOUT THEATRE COMPANY productions were honored with six Drama Desk Awards including five for ANYTHING GOES and one for THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING EARNEST.

***Tune in to WBAI 99.5FM Tuesday July 7th at 2pm for the Artsy Fartsy Show Tony Award Special!***